Taxiarches Church / Ayvalık Rahmi M. Koç Museum
The Metropolitan Church was built by the Alibey (Cunda) Island Greek Orthodox congregation in 1873. It was dedicated to Taxiarches -a term referring to the archangels Gabriel and Michael- and today remains the island’s most important monument.
The monumental yet desolate building has been brought back to life and to its original magnificence by artists and restoration experts. It was reopened as Ayvalık Rahmi M. Koç Museum on May 31st, 2014.
The museum has a broad range of exhibits based on the collections in the Rahmi M. Koç Museums in Istanbul and Ankara, including tin toys, prams, steam models and timekeeping devices.